The United States, Mexico, and Brazil Won Gold in Para Swimming

In the morning finals, American Madelyn White claimed the gold medal in the 100m breaststroke S8, her compatriot Yaseen El-Demerdash secured victory in the 100m backstroke S10, and in the 400m freestyle S11, Matilde Alcázar (MEX) and Matheus Rheine (BRA) emerged as the winners.

Friday, November 24th, 2023.- The American Madelyn White won the gold medal (1:32.83) in the 100m breaststroke in the S8 category (swimmers with slightly limited coordination, the use of only one leg, the use of only one arm, or partial absence of a limb).

Costa Rica secured the silver medal with Camila Haase, clocking a time of 1:36.84, and the bronze also went to the United States with swimmer Cali Prochaska (1:38.28). Chilean Francisca Neiman finished in fourth place with a time of 1:42.79.

Initially, the winner Madelyn White had been disqualified, granting the bronze medal to Chilean Francisca Neiman. However, the North American appealed the judgesThe ' decision, the ruling was overturned, and ultimately the medals went to the United States (gold and bronze) and Costa Rica (silver).

Next was the 100m backstroke S10 final (swimmers with slightly limited leg movement, moderately limited hip or foot joint movement, and a high degree of one foot, or partial absence of a limb), won by Yaseen El-Demerdash of the United States with a time of 1:04.36.

The silver medal in the 100m backstroke S10 went to Santiago Senestro of Argentina (1:04.60), while the bronze was claimed by Nicolás Nieto of Argentina (1:05.79).

The third final of the morning session at the Centro Acuático at the Estadio Nacional was the 400m freestyle S11 (almost total visual impairment), won by the Mexican Matilde Alcázar with a time of 5:37.31. Argentinian Analuz Pellitero (5:40.59) took the silver medal, while Colombian Sharit Yunque (5:53.52) secured the bronze.

In the same event and category for men, Brazilian Matheus Rheine earned the gold medal with a time of 4:58.59. His compatriot Wendell Belarmino (05:05.18) won silver, while the bronze was awarded to Sergioff Zayas of Argentina (5:17.50).

Written by Marcelo López; translated by Pía Barriga Ferry / Santiago 2023 vía Photosport
Photo by Javier Valdés / Santiago 2023 vía Photosport